Solution for Slow Performance of Kubuntu 9.04

It is so interesting to get new ubuntu releases and start to work on it.

After a long period, I returned to KDE.
Kubuntu 9.04 gives KDE 4.2 which is a major release of kde history.

I have been a quite long time as 2 years with KDE 3.
It is very nice to see that it is getting matured.

The User Interface is excellent.
I love it.

Let me try the new kubuntu.

Downloaded the ISO from torrent and burned it.

Live CD is wonderful.
But it could not recognize my laptop’s graphics card.

My laptop is IBM Thinkpad T41.
VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon RV250 [Mobility FireGL 9000] (rev 02)
I have 2 GB RAM.

I dont know why no graphics is found and kubuntu gave me a shell prompt.

Rebooted and went via a safe graphics mode.
It gave me a very low resolution as 800×600.

Not happy with this resolution.

Rebooted again and got the shell.

gave startx

Viola!

Kubuntu came with its full resolution.

Then installed as usual in a normal way!

Then,still got depressed with the new Kubuntu.

It is too too too much slow.

Every single action is responding in a terrible slow manner.

searched net and asked in kubuntu irc.
atlast found a link https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RadeonDriver

The fix is to add,

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.

Section “Device”
        Identifier      “ATI Technologies, Inc. Radeon 9600”
        Driver          “radeon”
        Option          “AccelMethod”    “XAA”  #either XAA or EXA. “XAA” is the default and safe choice
        Option          “EnablePageFlip” “true” #only works with accelmethod “XAA”
        Option          “TripleBuffer”   “true” #This *might* help if you use something like Beryl and have slow video playback.
        Option          “DynamicClocks”  “on”   #This is for laptop users, it saves energy when in battery mode.
        BusID           “PCI:1:0:0”             #must match your lspci output
EndSection

This fixed the slow performance issue.
Now my kubuntu is rocking.

Long Live Kubuntu!

8 thoughts on “Solution for Slow Performance of Kubuntu 9.04

  1. hi, i have just switched over to kubuntu 9.04 from windows. i have an acer travelmate 800 with a mobility radeon 9000. whenever some widgets i get that i dont have opengl shaders…but i know my card has them. my xorg.conf file currently shows the entry below….should i just edit it with your entry, or is your entry partially the result of having the right driver installed?

    Section

    “Monitor”
    Identifier “Configured Monitor”
    EndSection

    Section “Screen”
    Identifier “Default Screen”
    Monitor “Configured Monitor”
    Device “Configured Video Device”
    EndSection

    Section “Module”
    Load “dri”
    Load “GLcore”
    EndSection

    Section “Device”
    Identifier “Configured Video Device”
    Driver “vesa”
    EndSection

  2. THANK YOU, Shrinivasan!
    And THANKS to those who wrote the page indicated by you with a link.
    I did it and it works!
    I like KDE4 and I like Kubuntu 9.04, which is a really improvement comparing with 8.10.
    I have the (same) IBM Thinkpad T41 (mine is 2373-TG5 model), but with 1 GB RAM. Even when it should be the same, my ATI chipset identifies as Radeon RV250, I don’t know why.
    Using Synaptic, I’ve removed anything that was containing “fglrx” in the package name, keeping “xserver-xorg-video-ati” and “xserver-xorg-video-radeon”, only.
    I made a back-up of xorg.conf file, just in case something goes bad, to be able to return back. And I started to add the lines to xorg.conf, gradually in few steps. Firstly I’ve added Identifier, Driver and BusID lines, rebooting the system to check if really works. I got some improvement, but not spectacular. Then, I’ve added the Options lines and rebooted. After this point the computer behavior has change, being as it should be: fast. Now, I’m trying to get 3D to work.

  3. plz explain in detail (step by step) to add RadeonDriver.
    m a new user of kubuntu so little doubt.
    thnx in advance

Leave a Reply

