Get the top 10 heavy weight packages in ubuntu

Ubuntu is giving tons of software to install. Synaptic makes the software installation a child-play.
I can not stop myself installing new software when skimming the synaptic package manager.

I install X,Y,Z,foo,bar,etc. There is no end for my new software thirst. I install as much I can and play around the new software and introducing those software to my friends.

Atlast, My haddisk is getting filled. I use only 10% software installed for my daily life. So to clean up those rarely wanted,but huge in size, I was searching for a script to list the huge bulky software.

Got it from http://www.unnionline.com/blog/?p=111

Here it is.


dpkg-query –show –showformat=’${Package;-50}\t${Installed-Size}\n’ | sort -k 2 -n | grep -v deinstall | awk ‘{printf “%.3f MB \t %s\n”, $2/(1024), $1}’ | tail -n 10

And here is my result.

shrinivasan@shrinivasan-laptop:~$ dpkg-query –show –showformat=’${Package;-50}\t${Installed-Size}\n’ | sort -k 2 -n | grep -v deinstall | awk ‘{printf “%.3f MB \t %s\n”, $2/(1024), $1}’ | tail -n 10
34.934 MB      kde-icons-oxygen
36.891 MB      libgl1-mesa-dri
39.023 MB      evolution-common
43.797 MB      openoffice.org-common
69.871 MB      linux-headers-2.6.31-14
82.582 MB      sun-java6-bin
86.039 MB      linux-image-2.6.31-14-generic
86.574 MB      foomatic-db-gutenprint
109.215 MB      openoffice.org-core
247.348 MB      ubuntu-docs

Great. Got the list.  Now I can remove some bulky software and make my hard disk to breath some fresh air.🙂

Leave a Reply

