How to fix the DNS in OpenSuSE 13.1 ?

Recently Installed OpenSuSE 13.1 RC 1 in my laptop.

Internet was working fine at home BSNL wifi.

when I bring the same laptop and connect to office network,

the website names are not resolving.

I can ping 8.8.8.8 but can not ping google.com

I tried various name servers in /etc/resolv.conf like
8.8.8.8
4.2.2.2

208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220

Still no luck.

I can ping all these DNS servers with IP address.

But can not access any site with name.

Finally, found the following command in the comments of /etc/resolv.conf file.

netconfig update -f

which renewed the network settings.

Got the DNS entries from our DHCP server and can access all the sites with their name now.

9 thoughts on “How to fix the DNS in OpenSuSE 13.1 ?

  1. Thanks, it works for me too: i don’t knoww why i can nort reach websites with there names (ex: http://www.google.fr) but ok with ip number… seems to be dns cache problem???
    This command resolv the problem.

    Opensuse 13.1

  2. THANK YOU! I’ve had DNS die several times with particular WiFi connections in the past couple of months. I have no idea what prompted it to start working again in the past, but this works! I’m running 13.1 KDE with latest updates and using Network Manager. I’ve tried with and without DHCP verses Static.

  3. Thanks a lot! That command did help me as well.
    Always when I have a DNS-issue, I always test it with Tor (it uses different dns-settings than the “normal” browser”). If Tor works but I cannot use my regular browser, it’s a hint that there might be something wrong with the dns-settings.

  4. Pingback: Fix DNS problem on openSUSE – flanaras' adventures

Leave a Reply

