PySangamam – Tons of learnings, Happy moments

pysangamam-logo

PySangamam, is the first Python Conference of TamilNadu.
ChennaiPy team arranged for this two days conference.

Conducting a conference is like arranging for a marriage.
It will take all our time and energy, for few months.

I dont know how to thank the ChennaiPy team, organizers and volunteers for this great event. My apologies for not contributing.

I was following up from their initial discussions about the conference. The hard work they put was so fruitful. We had a memorable days at the event.

I liked the below things.

1. Single Track.
2. Poster Presentation after a lunch time.
3. Neat venue
4. Nice Food
5. Enough amount of participants
6. Wonderful Speakers
7. Awesome topics
8. Video Recording
9. Handson Workshops
10. Event on Friday/Saturday – So that we can enjoy the sunday with family.
11. Nice followups on from Call for speakers, Call for booking etc
12. Great updates on mail on the flow
13. Good followups and retweets on @PySangamam twiter handle
14. Nice goodies – IDcards, food coupons, Bag, notebook, pen
15. Neat Simple website

I did a poster presentation on “How Python is helping for Tamil Computing?”

 

Explained on Ezhil Language, Open Tamil Library, OCR4WikiSource, FreeTamilEbooks automation, Tamil TTS Automation, NLP Tools for Tamil
Many of them wondered to see such things happening in Tamil. Few agreed to check these tools and contribute.

It was a happy moment to see 4 of the open-tamil contributors met on the poster.  ArunRam, Shrinivasan, Nithya and KraceKumar.

Wondered to see a 7th standard kid explaining on how he learnt Python. Will say about him on all my future python sessions and to all who ask for learning python.

Met my old friends Kamesh, Stylesen, Yogesh. Had nice time with them. Arvind from Elastic got introduced. He shared more new things about the Elasticsearch and elastic.co

For my surprise, My master, Mr.Chandrashekar Babu was handling a workshop on concurrent programming. I always feel blessed to be in his classroom.
He is one of the main causes for me for being myself. He is always inspiring me with his continuous learning and sharing nature.

Learnt tons of new things in this two days. gevents, generators, yield, opencv, class, meta, async, queue, datastructure, xrange, stack and more. Have to digest them by reading about them and use int he projects I am working on.

As on the PySangamam logo, From Thirukkural – 394
குறள் 394:

உவப்பத் தலைக்கூடி உள்ளப் பிரிதல்
அனைத்தே புலவர் தொழில்.
மற்றவர்கள் கூடி வரும்போது, மனம் மகிழ அவர்களுடன் கலந்து பேசி, இனி இவரை எப்போது, எவ்வாறு சந்திக்கப் போகிறோம் என்று அவர்கள் எண்ணுமாறு பிரிவது கற்று அறிந்தவரின் செயல்.

It is the part of the learned to give joy to those whom they meet, and on leaving, to make them think (Oh! when shall we meet them again).
Realized and experienced this with PySangamam.

I dont have words to express my Thanks.

Waiting to see you all again.

My few clicks are here.  No much clicks this time.

IMG_2020

 

One request for PySangaman team and other conference organizers –

Please arrange a play area for kids, so that parents can come as family and attend the events. Our kid Viyan came along with us. We had to keep on entertaining him with goodies, stickers, notebook, drawing etc. It may be tough things to arrange for a kids area. But it will help to being more women speakers and participants .

One thought on “PySangamam – Tons of learnings, Happy moments

  1. Pingback: Annual Review – What I did on 2018? | Going GNU

Leave a comment